Counseling & Support

Toggle Section Menu

School Counselors

Who Are School Counselors?

At Springs Charter Schools, our counselors are here to help you. Each student is assigned a particular counselor.  If you are unaware who your counselor is, contact the Pupil Services department at 951-252-8833 to find out.

Kristin Turner
Director of Guidance
kristin.turner@springscs.org
(760) 330-7244

Tanya Gillick
Lead Counselor
Murrieta Student Center
tanya.gillick@springscs.org
(951) 225-7250

Christopher Lowe
Venture, Cherry Valley, Palm Academy, Homeschool High School/Journey
christopher.lowe@springscs.org
(951) 401-0720

Amber Love
Temecula Student Center
amber.sedino@springscs.org
(951) 225-7400

Shaina Sullivan
Otay Ranch Academy for the Arts and Vista Student Center
shaina.sullivan@springscs.org
Otay: (951) 225-7781

Victor Yoshida
Bear River Student Center
victor.yoshida@springscs.org
(951) 225-7652

Marquita Mohammed-Ali
FAPA and Rancho Cucamonga Student Center
marquita.mohammedali@springscs.org
Santa Ana: (951) 225-7125
CSC 951-225-7550

Brooke King
Hemet Student Center, TK-5 Counselor
brooke.king@springscs.org
951-225-7647

Gina Ferrari
iShine Student Center and Del Rio Student Center
gina.ferrari@springscs.org
(951) 225-7500

Evelyn Truong
Magnolia Student Center Counselor
evelyn.truong@springscs.org
951-225-7200 x 209

Kristen Stephen
Renaissance Valley Academy
kristen.stephen@springscs.org
(951) 225-7150

Shakya Rajapaksa
Santa Ana Student Center and Corona Student Center
shakya.rajapaksa@springscs.org
Santa Ana SC: (951) 225-7125
Corona SC: (951) 225-7550

Briana Fonseca
Riverside Student Center
briana.fonseca@springscs.org
(951) 225-7350

Counselor Role in High School Advisement

The guidance department maintains that the education and development of student potential are vested in the individual, family, school, and community and is therefore committed to a collaborative process that is inclusive of all stakeholders.

Departmental functions include:

  • Professional counseling & support services
  • New student enrollment and program placement
  • RTI (Response to Intervention) services including RTI, speech referrals and 504 Plans

Guidance staff is committed to the following student-related services:

  • Student advocacy and assistance toward independence and responsibility in action
  • Participate as an integral part of the school in addressing the complex issues that students are confronted with in today’s society
  • Early identification and advisement for college-bound students
  • Crisis intervention – Response, staff development, written school policies & processes
  • Coordination of student services with all departments (Special Education, Student Records, Instruction and Curriculum, Discipline, etc)
  • Develop systematic academic advisement policies and practices to ensure that all high school students are placed in courses appropriate to meeting both SCS graduation requirements, enrollment policies, and student post-graduation goals
  • Develop an increased understanding in the educational community of students’ social, emotional and developmental needs and proven strategies for responding to all students
  • Foster the belief that every individual is capable of learning and deserving of respect
  • Support the belief that education must prepare students to live and work in a complex and ever-changing global society
  • To foster reflection, re-evaluation, and openness to change as key elements toward program and individual improvement

Advisement Functions:

  • Develop four-year academic plans for all Springs Charter School programs
  • Develop individualized four-year academic plans for all high school students
  • Provide staff development and training to all high school staff, teachers and directors
  • Collaborate with all program directors on course advisement issues and scheduling
  • Provide advisement for parents and students ongoing development of the student’s four-year academic plan

Testimonials

Springs Charter Schools provides a great place to learn in a safe environment with the freedom for each child to express themself, and an inviting staff. Teachers that not only teach but also listen to the students.

- Guy & Aretha R., Parents
Apply Today Live Chat Facebook Twitter Youtube Instagram