Counseling & Support

Toggle Section Menu

School Counselors

Who Are School Counselors?

At Springs Charter Schools, our counselors are here to help you. Each student is assigned a particular counselor.  If you are unaware of who your counselor is, contact the Pupil Services department at 951-252-8833 to find out.

Kristin Turner
Director of Guidance
kristin.turner@springscs.org
(760) 330-7244

Shaina Sullivan
Lead Counselor
Otay Ranch Academy for the Arts and Virtual Village
shaina.sullivan@springscs.org
(951) 225-7781

Annie Seymour
Bear River Student Center
annupama.seymour@springscs.org
(951) 225-7650

Gina Ferrari
iShine Student Center and Del Rio Student Center
gina.ferrari@springscs.org
(951) 225-7500

Madeline Holkeboer
Temecula Student Center
madeline.holkeboer@springscs.org
(951) 225-7400

Stephanie Linderoth
Murrieta Student Center
stephanie.linderoth@springscs.org
(951) 225-7250

Courtney Pinedo
Renaissance Valley Academy
courtney.pinedo@springscs.org
(951) 225-7175

Madison Miracle
Hemet Quest and Palm Academy
madison.miracle@springscs.org
Hemet Quest: (951) 225-7600
Palm Academy: (951) 225-7326

Allison Trapp
Magnolia Student Center
allison.trapp@springscs.org
(951) 225-7200

David Venegas-Perez
Vista Student Center and Venture Online
david.venegasperez@springscs.org
(951) 225-7675

Marquita Mohammed Ali
FAPA and Keys College & Career Prep
marquita.mohammedali@springscs.org
(951) 225-7100

Leanne Windmiller
Temecula Keys College & Career Prep and Homeschool High School Journey
leanne.windmiller@springscs.org
(951) 331-1383

Janeth Castro
Riverside Student Center, Cherry Valley, and Homeschool K-8
janeth.castro@springscs.org
(951) 225-7350

Shakya Rajapaksa
Santa Ana Student Center, Corona Student Center, and Homeschool K-8
shakya.rajapaksa@springscs.org
Santa Ana SC: (951) 225-7125
Corona SC: (951) 225-7550

Sarah Amato
Rancho Cucamonga and Homeschool K-8
sarah.amato@springscs.org
(951) 252-8888

Counselor Role in High School Advisement

The guidance department maintains that the education and development of student potential are vested in the individual, family, school, and community and is therefore committed to a collaborative process that is inclusive of all stakeholders.

Departmental functions include:

  • Professional counseling & support services
  • New student enrollment and program placement
  • RTI (Response to Intervention) services including RTI, speech referrals, and 504 Plans

Guidance staff is committed to the following student-related services:

  • Student advocacy and assistance toward independence and responsibility in action
  • Participate as an integral part of the school in addressing the complex issues that students are confronted within today’s society
  • Early identification and advisement for college-bound students
  • Crisis intervention – Response, staff development, written school policies & processes
  • Coordination of student services with all departments (Special Education, Student Records, Instruction and Curriculum, Discipline, etc)
  • Develop systematic academic advisement policies and practices to ensure that all high school students are placed in courses appropriate to meeting both SCS graduation requirements, enrollment policies, and student post-graduation goals
  • Develop an increased understanding in the educational community of student’s social, emotional, and developmental needs and proven strategies for responding to all students
  • Foster the belief that every individual is capable of learning and deserving of respect
  • Support the belief that education must prepare students to live and work in a complex and ever-changing global society
  • To foster reflection, re-evaluation, and openness to change as key elements toward program and individual improvement

Advisement Functions:

  • Develop four-year academic plans for all Springs Charter School programs
  • Develop individualized four-year academic plans for all high school students
  • Provide staff development and training to all high school staff, teachers, and directors
  • Collaborate with all program directors on course advisement issues and scheduling
  • Provide advisement for parents and students ongoing development of the student’s four-year academic plan

Testimonials

If you are interested in a more hands-on approach for your child’s education and want to break away from the “one-size fits all””” approach of traditional schooling

- Chantel R., Parent
Springs is for you!"
Apply Today Live Chat Facebook Twitter Youtube Instagram