Counseling & Support

Toggle Section Menu

School Counselors

Who Are School Counselors?

At Springs Charter Schools, our counselors are here to help you. Each student is assigned a particular counselor.  If you are unaware of who your counselor is, contact the Pupil Services department at 951-252-8833 to find out.

Director of Guidance
Leanne Windmiller
leanne.windmiller@springscs.org
(760) 330-7244

Lead Counselor
Kristin Turner

Keys College & Career Prep
kristin.turner@springscs.org
(760) 330-7244

Bear River Student Center
Annie Seymour
annupama.seymour@springscs.org
(951) 225-7650

Cherry Valley, FAPA, and Homeschool K-8
Melanie Najera
melanie.najera@springscs.org
(951) 607-5338

Corona Student Center, Santa Ana Student Center, and Homeschool K-8
Elisa Cornelius
elisa.cornelius@springscs.org
(714) 482-3241

Del Rio, Riverside Student Center, and Homeschool K-8
Janeth Castro
janeth.castro@springscs.org
(951) 225-7350

Hemet Quest and Palm Academy
Madison Miracle
madison.miracle@springscs.org
Hemet Quest: (951) 225-7600
Palm Academy: (951) 225-7326

iShine Student Center, and Homeschool K-8
Allison Trapp
allison.trapp@springscs.org
(951) 225-7200

Journey Homeschool
Sarah Amato
sarah.amato@springscs.org
(951) 365-7214

Murrieta Student Center
Stephanie Linderoth
stephanie.linderoth@springscs.org
(951) 225-7250

Otay Ranch and Virtual Village
Maria Inostroz
maria.inostroz@springscs.org
(619) 790-8202

Renaissance Valley Academy
Courtney Pinedo
courtney.pinedo@springscs.org
(951) 225-7175

Temecula Student Center
Madeline Holkeboer
madeline.holkeboer@springscs.org
(951) 225-7400

Vista Student Center and Venture Online
David Venegas-Perez
david.venegasperez@springscs.org
(951) 225-7675

Counselor Role in High School Advisement

The guidance department maintains that the education and development of student potential are vested in the individual, family, school, and community and is therefore committed to a collaborative process that is inclusive of all stakeholders.

Departmental functions include:

  • Professional counseling & support services
  • New student enrollment and program placement
  • RTI (Response to Intervention) services including RTI, speech referrals, and 504 Plans

Guidance staff is committed to the following student-related services:

  • Student advocacy and assistance toward independence and responsibility in action
  • Participate as an integral part of the school in addressing the complex issues that students are confronted within today’s society
  • Early identification and advisement for college-bound students
  • Crisis intervention – Response, staff development, written school policies & processes
  • Coordination of student services with all departments (Special Education, Student Records, Instruction and Curriculum, Discipline, etc)
  • Develop systematic academic advisement policies and practices to ensure that all high school students are placed in courses appropriate to meeting both SCS graduation requirements, enrollment policies, and student post-graduation goals
  • Develop an increased understanding in the educational community of student’s social, emotional, and developmental needs and proven strategies for responding to all students
  • Foster the belief that every individual is capable of learning and deserving of respect
  • Support the belief that education must prepare students to live and work in a complex and ever-changing global society
  • To foster reflection, re-evaluation, and openness to change as key elements toward program and individual improvement

Advisement Functions:

  • Develop four-year academic plans for all Springs Charter School programs
  • Develop individualized four-year academic plans for all high school students
  • Provide staff development and training to all high school staff, teachers, and directors
  • Collaborate with all program directors on course advisement issues and scheduling
  • Provide advisement for parents and students ongoing development of the student’s four-year academic plan

Testimonials

Each of my children have different strengths and weaknesses and our Education Specialist works with us to keep the strengths going while assisting them in getting better with their weaknesses.

- Collen M., Parent
Apply Today Live Chat Facebook Twitter Youtube Instagram