Superintendent’s Message – April 2019

It was my great pleasure to participate in groundbreaking ceremonies for our new facilities for Springs’ Flabob Airport Preparatory Academy on March 18. Once complete, the school will have an office and 10 classrooms surrounding a hangar. We had a wonderful turnout of Springs families and staff, local elected officials and other friends of the school.

FAPA currently serves 114 students grades 6-12. I refer to it as a small secondary school with a big vision. It is a school where every student is encouraged to help create his or her own course of study with a grounding in real-world experiences. It is designed with a large hangar as a central hub, a place where students and teachers can work on sustained, authentic projects. Rebuild engines. Design robots. Assemble computers. Our students will not just be able to study aviation sciences, they will have options to explore engineering science, public works, medical fields, computer science and hospitality.

Our students get connected with future career opportunities through CTE and internships, many of which take place on the grounds of Flabob Airport. Our students can begin to earn college credit as early as 9th grade, both in career pathways to help them with technical certificates and licenses and general education coursework that meet requirements for a four-year college degree.
This dream was a long time in coming, and I wish to thank all who helped make it a reality. And, if you’re a parent of a prospective student, there are still openings available, so give the school a call and talk to a staff member.

I’d also like to mention some outstanding student achievements. This year, we’ll have 53 students graduating high school who earned Golden State Seal Merit Diplomas. This is up from 30 last year, and 19 in 2014.
Additionally, it was my pleasure to honor our Springs students who earned perfect scores for our California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress (CAASPP) testing at a recent ceremony. These students include Sarah Gamble, Penelope Gruwell, Keira Morrison, Madison Rosario, Madelyn Cordsen, Joseph Burke, Bobby Karolina Capacite, Anais Park, Alexandria Parker, Julia Sylva, Reagan Laux, Sean Daley, Drew Fatter, Max Rosenfeld, Emerson Schneider, Quentin Thompson, Jeremiah Lin, Rachael Strong, Preston Tobias, Ivy Cross, Zoey Ruderman, Cade Poe, Emily Hackbarth, Lottie Molen, Elias Hernandez, Declan Kallberg, Ryker Baloun, Jacob Hensley and Hannah de la Cruz. Congratulations! We’re proud of you!


Dr. Kathleen Hermsmeyer


Apply Today Live Chat Facebook Twitter Youtube Instagram